We should have balanced coverage of all five essential food groups:

1.    Grain (bread, cereal, rice, pasta…)
2.    Fruits and vegetables
3.    Milk and dairy products (milk, yoghurt, cheese…)
4.    Meat and proteins (meat, fish, poultry…)
5.    Fats, oils and sugar (butter, oil, sweets…)

The first group is the source of carbohydrates, which are the main source of energy. Also, this food group is rich in non-starch polysaccharides (i.e. dietary fiber), excellent for our digestive system, and in prevention from some serious disease, such as heart disease, hemorrhoids, certain types of cancer, etc.

The second group of food supplies us with fibers, healthy sugars and a lot of vitamins and minerals. All of them take part in different metabolisms, prevent different types of disease, and benefit our organism as a whole.

The third group supplies us with calcium which enstrenghtens our bones. We should be very careful with this food group, because either less or more than permitted can cause problems and disorders in our body.

The fourth group supplies our body with proteins, iron and zinc. Proteins carry out numerous metabolisms in our body, are vital for the looks of our hair and nails, and they are beneficial for our immune and blood systems. This group has a plenty of B-vitamins, especially B12 (vital for cell division) and B3 (used for energy production and production of lipoproteins).

The fifth food group should not be called “healthy” at all, but it is necessary, in a way. It provides us with “essential fatty acids” and with energy. It should be eaten in small amounts and separately.